ASID Hawaii Chapter Honorees

2020 ASID Hawaii Chapter Honorees

A person wearing glasses and smiling at the camera

Description automatically generatedLifetime Service Award:

Universal Design, LLC

Since 1997, Nancy has held seven board positions including three as president. She has been active on several committees, including Hawaii Chapter Advocacy chair and National Ethics Committee member. Nancy continuously offers her assistance to board members in need of support or advice. She tirelessly supports our fundraising efforts including the inaugural 2017 Design Impacts Lives event. She has been instrumental in our successful Design Excellence Awards.

From 2009 to 2010, Nancy spearheaded a community service project at the local state-owned end-of-life care facility with a committee of five other chapter members. The project involved redesigning two unused rooms to create spaces for family visits and respite care. She later continued the community service work with one additional chapter member to redesign the Recreational Therapy room, thanks to a donation from a resident after seeing the initial work. As a result, she was the recipient of the 2013 National Community Service Award.

She coordinated the Environmental and Interior Design Program and our only student chapter to incorporate the facility in their Universal Design and commercial space courses, benefitting a hospital with design ideas for future work in the areas of exterior design, wayfinding and home-like features in common areas.

Nancy has conducted speaking engagements and interviews on behalf of the Chapter promoting Design Impacts Lives, Design Excellence Awards and other events. 

We are proud to award her with the Lifetime Achievement Award she so richly deserves.


A person smiling for the camera

Description automatically generated

Chapter Industry Partner Merit Award:

Meagan Jensen
Bella Pietra Design, Industry Partner

Meagan Jensen and her mother, LaWanna Jensen, are the new owners of Bella Pietra  Design. They have been avid supporters of the ASID Hawaii Chapter; providing invaluable assistance by hosting our membership meetings, CEUs and chapter board meetings at their facility. They have supported many of our chapter events either as sponsors or volunteers, and have participated on our board. Our previous Professional Development Director, Layla Dedrick, the former owner of Bella Pietra Design.

Their support of the design profession has included hosting product knowledge meetings with vendors and designers both at their facility and on Zoom (in response to COVID).

We are proud to honor Meagan Jensen and Bella Pietra Design with the Chapter Industry Partner Merit Award.


A person smiling for the camera

Description automatically generated

Emerging Professional Award:

Lisa Nguyen, Allied ASID
Peter Vincent Architects

Lisa Nguyen graduated Magna Cum Laude in 2014 from Chaminade University. She holds a Bachelor of Fine Art, Environmental + Design, and was awarded Outstanding Graduate within the Major. She is currently employed as a Associate Project Manager/Interior Designer with Peter Vincent Architects where she is responsible for the interior design and furnishing of luxury residential, commercial and hospitality projects.

Lisa has been affiliated with ASID Hawaii Chapter since 2012. She currently serves as the chapter’s 2020-2022 Membership Director.

Her community service efforts include Girl Scouts of Hawaii, Chaminade Student Mentor and has volunteered for chapter events such as Design Impacts Lives.

She is the recipient of many project awards including: NAIOP Public Sector Award - Kobayashi and Kosasa; Family Kitchen & Dining Room at Kapi’olani Medical Center for Women & Children, 2020; NAIOP - Hoakalei Golf Clubhouse, 2020; BIA Grand & Overall Grand Award, - Hoakalei Golf Clubhouse, 2019; BIA Grand Award – Tonggs Condominium Remodeling, 2019; ASID People’s Choice Award - Mr. O’s Residence, 2016.

Lisa is indeed an outstanding emerging professional and it is our honor to recognize her with the Outstanding Emerging Professional Award.